Dr. Abel Julio GONZÁLEZ

Dr. Abel Julio GONZÁLEZ is a diploma engineer from the Faculty of Engineering of the University of Buenos Aires (UBA). He has specialized in the engineering of radiation and radioactivity monitoring, radiation protection and nuclear safety. He is a full member of the National Academy of Sciences of Buenos Aires, of the Argentine Academy of Environmental Sciences, of the Academy of the Sea, of Argentina, and of the International Nuclear Energy Academy.

He is currently a senior advisor to the Nuclear Regulatory Authority (ARN) of Argentina and, as such, member of the Argentine delegation to the General Conference and the Board of Governors of the IAEA of which he was Deputy Governor for Argentina. He is also a member of the United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR), of the Commission of Safety Standards of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and of the Committee on Radiological Protection and Public Health of the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

At the international level, he has been: (i) Director of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in the areas of its competence (from 1987 to 2005); (ii) Vice President of the International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP); and, (iii) Vice President of the International Radiation Protection Association (IRPA) and President of its IRPA XII international Congress.

At the national level, his professional career was developed in the National Atomic Energy Commission of Argentina (CNEA), where he was: researcher, Head of the Protection Engineering Department, Head of the Protection and Safety Authority (with the current regulatory functions of the ARN) and Director of Planning and member of the CNEA Board. He was also President of the National Company of Electro-nuclear Power Plants (ENACE).

In specialized lecturing, he is currently a professor at the following universities: (i) at the International School of Nuclear Law of the University of Montpellier, France; in several regular courses of the World Nuclear University (WNU), in particular in the Summer School (boreal) of the WNU. In the past he was founder and first Director of the International Postgraduate Course on Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety, supervisor of several theses at the Faculty of Exact and Natural Sciences of the UBA and professor of the International School of Nuclear Management of the IAEA, in the Abdus Salam International Center for Theoretical Physics in Miramare, Italy.

He has received several professional decorations, including: (i) the IAEA Distinguished Service Award in recognition of his work in the International Chernobyl Project in 1990; (ii) the Morgan Award from the Health Physics Society of the USA (twice: in Denver, Colorado, in 2000, and in San Diego, California in 2003); (iii) the award of the 28th Lauriston S. Taylor Lecturer of the National Commission of Radiation Protection and Measurements of the USA in 2004; (iv) the "Special Service Award" of the IAEA in 2004; (v) the "Marie Curie Prize" award in 2008 and (vi) the Academician Georgyi A. Zedgenidze award and medal, in Obnisnk, Russian Federation. In March 2004, at the IRPA XI International Congress in Madrid, he received the highest international award in the discipline of radiation protection - the Sievert Prize. In 2005, he shared the Nobel Prize awarded to the IAEA.

He is a founding member of the Argentine Society of Radioprotection and honorary member of the Spanish Society of Radiological Protection.

In his specialty he has published more than 200 scientific and technical papers, contributed to many publications of specialized international committees and groups (UNSCEAR, ICRP and IAEA) and delivered some 300 specialized conferences and master classes in many countries.